ice creamI was recently reading about the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator. It’s a personality assessment test developed by Carl Jung to measure psychological preferences in how people perceive the world and make decisions. There are 16 different personality types. Baskin Robbins has 31 different flavors, but I digress. Curious, I went ahead and took the test. Since I never like to get all my information from a single source, I took it on three different sites. All three gave me the same result, so I felt confident I was given the right ‘prognosis’. I was definitely given the right prognosis.

Apparently, I am classified as an INTP. They are the rarest type, making up just one percent of the world’s entire population. I’m not sure if that’s goot or bad. 😦 An INTP is someone who:

  • Prefers to work by themselves
  • Enjoys abstract and theoretical problem-solving
  • Abhors repetitive, routine tasks; they thrive on spontaneity and variety
  • Values knowledge above all else
  • Loves to debate and discuss ideas, often long past the tolerance of people of other types.
  • Unique humor, especially humor based on wordplay or creative twists
  • Spends much of their time in intensely concentrated analytical thinking, i.e. daydreaming about silly ideas such as elephants riding tricycles
  • Procrastinates constantly
  • Not naturally good at expressing their own feelings and emotions
  • Loves learning new things inside and out, mastering them completely, but then they have a tendency to lose interest once it is mastered, and want to move on to something else new and exciting.
  • Prefers intimate relationships with a few special people, cautious about revealing their feelings to any but their closest friends.
  • They love to eat cookies.

Okay, so the test said nothing about cookies. But I do looove cookies. As I kept reading about all the different traits, I stumbled across this quote:

INTPs tend to approach problem-solving, for ANY kind of problem, with logical analysis. To people of other types, this can sometimes appear cold, unfeeling, and overly critical. From the INTPs’ perspective, they are simply applying logical principles to their own behavior and to the behavior of others. If they criticize, it is only to correct what they see as an inconsistency or flaw in logic. They intend to be objective, not hurtful. Others may see this as arrogance and may react with anger and defensiveness.

Holy fucking monkey balls. As if this test hadn’t described me perfectly as it is, this part sealed the deal. It’s almost scary. You see, if I spot something that makes no sense, I tell people, “This makes absolutely no sense at all and here’s why.” And that’s what gets me in trouble. Afterward, I look back and think to noahsarkmyself, “Exactly what just happened? I was only trying to be help and somehow everything came out completely the wrong way. Why did this turn into an argument?” Now, I will hold my tongue around people I don’t know too well or in public settings such as a bar, restaurant, party, etc. It’s different around somebody I know well, in a private area, and when something is said that is unreasonable, unscientific, unsound, or downright screwy (e.g. the Old Testament). While my brain is saying “STFU. DON’T SAY A SINGLE WORD. JUST BE QUIET!!”, my mouth has other ideas. If it wasn’t so good at eating cookies, I would have sewn it shut by now.

*sigh* And really, I don’t mean to start drama or be an asshole. All I’m trying to do is help and possibly educate. But it seems no matter how carefully I try to word things or how nice I try to be, it comes off as preachy and possibly condescending. I prbly shouldn’t say anything at all, but I can’t help myself. 😦 This is what Tourette syndrome must feel like.

Anyways, this Myers-Briggs personality test is great and I highly suggest it. Forget horoscopes, this really describes people pretty accurately. Well, at least for me it did. If anything, it made me realize there are a few things I need to work on. Admitting you have a problem is the first step towards fixing it. With this new found knowledge, I hope to do just that. Wish me luck.

Regards,

Jerry

Comments
  1. sly0208 says:

    Can’t wait to try it out. I know I’ve taken the test before, but I can’t remember what I am. I’m almost certain I’m ISTJ (Intuitive, Sensing, Thinking, Judging). I’ll play around today and find out for sure. Thanks for the post! I LOVE personality tests!

  2. sly0208 says:

    BTW, I have the same username but a new URL. http://tatteredandkickin.wordpress.com/

    Ya know, just so you know. 😉

  3. sly0208 says:

    Nope. Make that ISFJ (Introverted, Sensing, Feeling, Judging).

    Fun stuff.

  4. jruthkelly says:

    What’s fun is to take it a few times and discover that one time you’re an Eye In TeePee and another time you’re an Eye In EffJay (EffJay’s are a rare bird found in North Carolina, cough, who like to work alone in the woods. They have x-ray vision.). I seem to be INFJ consistently enough to settle on it. Yet, I have foot in mouth disease oftentimes. You discover who, of your friends, are truly strong. Good stuff.

  5. planetross says:

    I took the test and was 5 intitials initially. I took it again and was 6!!! I took it until I could spell my whole name!!!

    Actually I took this test once and it said I was an asshole. hee hee!

    Then the next time it said I was “INRI”. hee hee!

    I’m just being a jerk: I would like to take this test again. (seriously)

  6. planetross says:

    I took this test: it says I’m ENTJ.
    I didn’t really like the questions though: I’d click both of the answers on a lot of them.

  7. S. Le says:

    Think I’ll take the test as well. Your results seem like what mine will be. Guess I could just use your results. Especially the one about loving cookies! They’re my fave dessert!

  8. S. Le says:

    Mine turned out ISFJ “Nurturer” Guess I should have known. As a nurturer I reckon I can make my own cookies and share them with people like you!

  9. annieepoetry says:

    Yes, there are more kinds of ice cream flavors than personalities.

    I love cookies too but not the ice cream, cookies and cream. I am concerned about this. I wonder if i would like cookies smashed into pie…. That is very big problem for me.

    People, including me, need to be told that what they are saying does not make sense.

    You are doing the world a favor, perhaps someone will take the time to rethink their beliefs (old testament) and come to reason

  10. annieepoetry says:

    or not, most likely not but what if, what if it worked???

  11. socratesoul says:

    🙂 I’m an INTP too. And my irrepressible urge to point out logical inconsistencies annoys the SHIT out of people around me. Not to mention my stubborn independence and automatic resistance to authority. And then throw in all of my Aquarius-ness, and you’ve got a shitstorm of a personality that tends to scare people off before they even know what hit them.

    You may have come across this already, but I’ve found this to be one of the more comprehensive descriptions of an INTP: http://www.intp.org/intprofile.html

Leave a Reply

