20 things about . . . me?!?! (Part Deux)

Posted: February 25, 2009 in note from zee author, r-flection!#
Tags: , , , , , ,

3141592653589793238Thanks to everyone who left feedback on Part Une of this experiment, it means a lot. Actually, thanks to anyone whose ever left a comment on any of posts. I wasn’t really sure if anyone was going to give a crap about my random facts, but I’m glad some of you do. 🙂 And about the whole π thing, it’s a bit of a secret to those around me. I certainly don’t go bragging about it . . . not that such a trivial tidbit of info deserves being boastful about to begin with. And I’m also glad to hear that there are more social introverts out there in the world. We should all get together some time and party. Then again, the big crowds might prove to be a problem. Hmm. How ironic.

Anyways, here are facts number six, seven, and eight:

car_crashVI. [Note: I wrote a long post yesterday dedicated solely to this fact. It didn’t go over so well. One blogger noted it as “disturbing.” I deleted the post, but not before saving it for perhaps a later date. As for now here is the super super  reduced version of  it. Most of the good stuff has been taken out. Sorry.]

I’ve never broken a bone in my body. That’s not to say the opportunity has failed to present itself; I’ve been in two major car accidents. Both of which I am lucky to have made it out with all my body parts in place, much less walked away from unscathed. One involved my tiny car being clipped by a big truck, flipping and spinning me in all sorts of ways. Another had me uncontrollably careening in circles through seven lanes of highway traffic in the pouring rain. I’ve been in countless of near-misses, none of which have ever been my fault. In fact, ever since I was a child I have had dreams of dying in a car accident. I’m convinced that’s how I’m gonna go out whenever my time is up.

dinosaursVII. The year that I was in the first grade was, and will be, the best year of my life. It meant graduating from that baby-ass kindergarten and moving on to real school. I was becoming a man. That was the year I met my very first crush, Betty Jo. Yes, that was her name. Yes, I grew up in the South. “Oh you like stickers, Betty Jo?” BAM! 20 pack of the hottest dinosaur stickers you’ve ever seen on her desk the next morning. You’ve never seen a seven year old with so much game in yo life, son. Between the naps, all-you-can-drink apple juice, and finger painting, it’s a miracle I ever voluntarily left. Now, it wasn’t perfect by any means. I remember not only my first game of baseball, but my very first at-bat. There I am at the plate, knees wobbling and arms shaking. The pitch comes at me so I close my eyes and swing as hard as I can. I hit it! I open my eyes but don’t see the ball anywhere in sight. That’s because I hit it directly up in the air. I know this because it fell directly on top of my head. *cue the entire class pointing and laughing at me* My skills haven’t improved one bit since that day. No joke. 😦

buddy_hollyVIII. I have a musical palette wider than most. Hop into my car and you’ll see what I mean. I dare you not crack a smile after hearing Project Pat lead directly into Vivaldi. One moment I’ll be jamming out to Slipknot, the next I’ll be relaxing to some Willie Nelson. Underground canadian hip-hop, acoustic heavy metal with a flair of flamenco, beautifully insane xylophones gone wild, you name it. It spans from Buddy Holly to your latest snot-nosed indie bands and everything in between, no era skipped. I can go on about the psychedelic 60’s, 70’s classic rock, 80’s hairbands, 90’s grunge all day. I think you get the point though. I love music. Music is what emotions sound like. More people need to broaden their range a bit. There’s just so much out there that people miss out on, either because they don’t look for it or because they’re loyal to only one genre. That’s like only eating plain cake donuts and refusing to check out the chocolate glazed! Don’t make that mistake.

Comments
  1. moreprivate says:

    #6…. Hm. I always think of dying in a car crash, too. And it being my fault and all. Whenever I drive by a bridge I think of purposely crashing into one of the poles or something.
    Anyway, you’re not alone.
    #7 is the cutest thing EVER.
    #8: It’s so awesome that you like all kinds of music. I personally don’t, but I do like really different kinds when I am in the right mood for it.

    Anyway, love your post as per usual!

  2. Selma says:

    I completely agree with you about the music. I listen to just about everything except free jazz. I hate free jazz.

    That is a cute story about Betty Jo!

  3. thezeninyou says:

    You are turning out to be very interesting! I get the music…I LOVE music and have a little bit of everything. Music moves my soul and my soul tends to be fickle and moody… Do you ever go to Pandora.com Love it…has so much cool stuff on there…

  4. megan says:

    6. You are one lucky duck so far.

    7. Maybe the baseball on the noggin is why you can recite pi.

    8. As I said before, I think you and I would get along very well.

  5. planetross says:

    Hey! I give a crap about random facts!

    #6 : everyone dies … in a car crash, but not everyone truly lives … in a car crash (possibly a Braveheart quote)

    #7 : ahhhhhh … childhood. It ain’t coming back.

    #8 : I think megan is a stalker …. hee hee!

    note: why are there so many women leaving comments on your blog?

  6. sly0208 says:

    Planetross is totally psychic!!! Or I am…one of us is, I swear it! (I was wondering the exact same thing as to why so many women leave comments…I think you should answer for that.)

    Okay, but anyway. I’m not sure I’d have the ability to drive if I were you. But then again, I’ve also been in two really serious car accidents and only suffered a broken foot and some bruies in one of them, in the other, I was luckily not hurt at all.

    Cute crush story. 🙂

    And just the other day, as I was listening to Clutch, I suddenly had the urge to seek out some Patsy Cline on the radio. Seriously. I think my musical tastes are expanding the older I get.

  7. coogie says:

    #6: You are so awesome and interesting!
    #7: You are the cutest thing EVER and we would get along so well!
    #8: I am so totally just like you!

    SCR

  8. pinnythewu says:

    Dude, I meant disturbing in a good way!! I’m glad it made way for the Betty-Jo story though.

  9. I have pondered about the unusual female concentration on this blog. It believe it may have to do with the author’s propensity to leave comments on blogs written by women.
    I also surmise he ensnares chicks with cute childhood stories. It is a well-known fact we cannot resist these.
    I had a similar humiliating ball story except it was only a few years ago (which makes it more humiliating a million times), on a first date in Boston. A street performer selected me in the crowd to throw him a ball while he was precariously balancing himself at the top of a ladder. I threw the ball. The ball landed ten meters… behind me. 200 people laughed at me. Hu-mi-lia-ted!

  10. Otto Mann says:

    I’m sorry Nataliewithanh but I’m not trying to “ensnare” anyone, female or otherwise.

    The topic and content of my posts isn’t tailor-made for any particular gender, but rather for anyone who bothers to read them.

    Don’t over analyze who posts comments, I know that I certainly don’t. I never have, or ever will, ask for anyone’s personal info. I could care less about those things.

    So speculate all you want. It’s a bit laughable, actually. Not to mention a tad insulting.

  11. Oh please. I’m sorry if you felt insulted because honestly no insult was intended. I was totally kidding!!! Totally tongue-in-cheek! If I thought for a minute you got your kicks out of “ensnaring” women online (whatever that means), I certainly would not have commented.

  12. Susi Spice says:

    ottomann, what these dont know is what you and I have… the fact is i ensnarred you.. haha. *wink* big hugs.

    I agree with some chick who posted above me, cant be bothered scrolling up at this point as I am at work haha. but yeah i agree maybe the hitting the ball thing made you know how to recite pi…also notice that Newton had an apple fall on his head and he discovered gravity! maayyybeee if we go out on the pitching field and I throw balls at you..eventually you are bound to come up with something to make us BOTH rich! hehe

    Car crash? ppfftt you wont die in a car crash silly man.

    sabes que acabo de recordarme que hablas espan`ol y yo, aqui, de tonta escribiendote en ingles haha. En otra vez, escribire el post completamente en espanol. Sirvira dos propositos 1) atraera la audiencia de habla hispanos a tu blog y 2) me sentire mas especial jaja.

  13. Cat says:

    Hmmmm, yes, music is what emotion sounds like. Were you reading my mind so far away?
    I’d say more…but…you…and others…already beat me to it.

    And…yeah…why aren’t more guys commenting here…Jealous cuz they don’t have the brain power to keep up I suppose.
    j/k lol! (yes, cliche, but true)

  14. mynooch says:

    Without pain, without sacrifice, we would have nothing

    This is your life and it’s ending one minute at a time

    It’s only after we’ve lost everything that we’re free to do anything

    If you don’t know what you want, you end up with a lot you don’t

    You are not a beautiful or unique snowflake. You’re the same decaying organic matter as everything else

  15. Magpie says:

    plain cake donuts FTL.

  16. trishskee says:

    Were they puffy dinosaur stickers? ::swoon::

  17. gigidiaz says:

    Your random facts are fantastic!

  18. dmwright says:

    Loving your 20 things about you posts! I loved stickers, too. Maybe it is just a girl thing. Scratch n sniff were my favorite. And chocolate glazed doughnuts rule.

  19. Doraz says:

    Just another gal stopping in to leave a comment! Have a great week finding out about yourself even more! *(*

  20. Susi Spice says:

    mon cherie ottomann, je vudrais le parte trois du ton post! merci!!

  21. Susi Spice says:

    mon cherie ottomann, je vudrais le parte trois du ton post! merci!!

    i never said mon francais was perfect hehe.

  22. strider says:

    I thought Pie are square. Cake are round.

Leave a Reply

