D.A.R.E

Posted: January 9, 2009 in r-flection!#
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

I remember one day we had a D.A.R.E officer come in to my 5th grade class and talk to us about the dangers of drugs and violence. After the talk, he asked if anyone had any questions.

“Don’t be afraid, there’s no such thing as a dumb question!”, he proclaimed.

My hand went up first.

“Is it true cops sit around all day eating donuts?”

“I stand corrected”, he said then pointed at me, “that is a dumb question.”

It’s strange because I wasn’t trying to make fun of him. Honest. I just wanted to know if all things I heard as a kid growing up were true or not. Up until that point, that was my honest idea of what the fuzz did.

All my little snot-nosed classmates got a kick out of it but I ended up having to stay after class. I still remember that day as the day I learned what cops did for a living.

Go to elementary schools and pick on litte kids.

Comments
  1. missalyss says:

    heheheheheh. But cops DO eat lots of donuts!! I live in LA and the 24 hour doughnut shops are always filled with em! thanks for reading ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Angela Swanlund says:

    LOL! I learned at about this same age that you should only help old ladies across the street if they ask YOU. When youโ€™re 13, have purple hair, and a safety pin lip piercing – they smack you with handbags if you attempt to ask THEM anything. :p

  3. scrapper26 says:

    Awww! I hate that you had such a horrible experience! He really could have handled that better- teaching 101 tells you NOT to do that! Geesh!

  4. theladymel says:

    I know there are good cops out there–but I’m seriously sick of running into the ones with tiny dicks and giant ego issues. This might be a stupid question because you just posted a blog about the whole encounter–but did this whole incident scar you?

  5. Otto Mann says:

    It didn’t scar me, but it was very memorable. Not all cops are bad though, I know that. I just run into the mean ones.

  6. That is so awesome! I remember DARE!

  7. marybt says:

    There are no stupid questions. But there sure are a lot of idiots asking stuff.

    :p

  8. marybt says:

    Oh yeah, and I have a really bad attitude toward cops.

  9. Wynn says:

    You do get a lot of readers on your new blog, got secrets? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  10. curiouserx2 says:

    Pigs! Don’t let the bastards grind you down:) This is great stuff, btw.
    ~a
    http://www.curiouserx2.wordpress.com

  11. lyricspoetic says:

    interesting…lol

  12. Run DMT says:

    LOL- Your blog reminds me of Deep Thoughts by Jack Handey. Classic!

    A friend of mine recently had a similar experience with a fire fighter. What is it with these guys?

Leave a Reply

